Change My Drivers License Address Ga 4,8/5 3562votes
Custodial or non-custodial parents may apply for services at the local agency in their county of residence, or they may obtain an application from the website.
Applying for a New Teen Driver's License in Georgia The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) requires teens to follow a graduated driver's license (GDL) process to help you become a safer driver. The steps of the process are explained below, giving you a clear and simple guide that takes you from your instructional permit all the way to your full driver's license. New to Georgia?
When you move to Georgia, you have to transfer your out-of-state permit or driver's license within 30 days of becoming a GA resident. Regardless of your previous state's licensing rules, you must meet the age and experience requirements of the Georgia DDS graduated driver's license program (see below), and you'll need to surrender your out-of-state permit or license. You will need to have held your Georgia instructional permit for 12 months before you can be issued a driver's license, and your time with your out-of-state permit WILL count toward this time. Georgia Graduated Licensing Program Georgia's GDL program is called the Teenage & Adult Drivers Responsibility Act (TADRA) and applies to teen drivers who are 15 to 18 years old. TADRA includes age restrictions to advance to a the next type of license as well as required practice driving training hours. The purpose of TADRA is to decrease accidents by making sure you get the experience you need before becoming a fully licensed driver.
It has proven effective in reducing teen car accident rates. The GDL program has three stages: • Instructional permit. • Provisional/Intermediate license (Class D). • Full driver's license (Class C).
Age Requirements Each stage of Georgia's GDL program has a minimum age requirement: • Instructional permit: 15 years old. • Intermediate license: • 16 years old, if you complete an approved Driver's Ed course.
• 17 years old, if you do not complete Driver's Ed. • Full driver's license: 18 years old.
Georgia Instructional Permit If you are at least 15 years old, you can apply for a instructional permit, also called an learner's permit, which is the first step toward getting your driver's license. You can apply for an instructional permit by visiting a in person. You will need to bring: • Your parent, guardian, or authorized Driver's Ed instructor to sign your application. • A completed (Form DS-1) dated within the last 30 days, or a high school diploma or GED.
• All documents must meet the to be acceptable: • 1 document proving your identity, such as your: • Passport. Birth certificate (original or certified). • 1 document proving your Social Security number, such as your: • Social Security card. • W-2 showing your name and all or part of your Social Security number. • 2 documents proving your Georgia residence, such as your: • School records, including report card or Certificate of Attendance. • Bank account statement.
• $10 fee payable by credit or debit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express), cash, check, or money order. You'll have to pass: • A vision exam. • A DMV written test. The DDS offers a free online for studying. If you really want to ensure passing on the first attempt, we suggest studying with a comprehensive from our certified partner. Instructional Permit Driving Restrictions While you have your Georgia instructional permit, you can ONLY drive with a licensed driver who is: • At least 21 years old.
• Attentive and alert so that they can take control if necessary. • Sitting in the front passenger seat. Behind-the-Wheel Experience Your GA instructional permit gives you the chance to learn and practice the skills you'll need to move on to your intermediate driver's license. You must hold your instructional permit for at least 12 months and during this time you must: • Successfully complete. • Log at least 40 hours of supervised driving practice, including 6 hours at night.
NOTE: If you don't take an approved driver's education class, you'll have to wait until you're 17 years old to get your provisional license. GA Provisional License You can move on to the next phase of the GDL process and apply for your provisional or intermediate Georgia driver's license if: • You're 16 years old and have completed an approved Driver's Ed class OR you've turned 17 years old. • You've had your i nstructional permit for at least 12 months.
• You've logged 40 hours of supervised practice driving, including 6 hours at night. • You have completed an (ADAP). • You haven't had your instructional permit suspended. Apply for a Provisional License To apply for your provisional driver's license, visit with: • Your parent, guardian, or authorized Driver's Ed instructor who can sign: • Your application. • A statement to confirm your 40 hours of supervised driving.
• A completed (Form DS-1) dated within the last 30 days (or a high school diploma or GED if you have graduated). • 1 document proving your identity, such as your: • Passport. Birth certificate (original or certified). • 1 document proving your Social Security number, such as your: • Social Security card. • W-2 with your name and all or part of your Social Security number. • 2 documents proving your Georgia residence, such as your: • School records, including report card or Certificate of Attendance. • Bank account statement.
• $10 fee payable by credit or debit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express), cash, check, or money order. You'll have to pass: • A vision exam.
• A DMV road skills test (driving test). Provisional License Restrictions While you are on your provisional driver's license, you must follow the following restrictions: • You can ONLY drive between 6 a.m. And midnight. • Passenger restrictions: • For the first 6 months: Immediate family members ONLY.
• For the second 6 months: No more than 1 passenger under under 21 years old who is not immediate family. • After the second 6 months: No more than 3 passengers under 21 years old who are not immediate family. Don't Drive Distracted Distracted driving is a leading cause of fatal accidents among young drivers. Remember to keep your attention on your driving. For more information visit our. Full Unrestricted GA Driver's License Obtaining your full, unrestricted driver's license is your final step in the Georgia graduated licensing process. To qualify for your unrestricted GA driver's license, also called a Class C license, you must: • Be at least 18 years old.
• Have not received any convictions for major traffic violations within the last 12 months, including: • DUI. • Reckless driving. • Any violation worth 4 points or more. You can apply for your GA driver's license: • Online. You can use our to track your progress along the way. Online To apply for your driver's license online, visit the. You'll need to: • Create a DDS online account, if you don't already have one.
• Have a regular intermediate (Class D) license that has not been suspended, cancelled, or revoked. • Be at least 18 years old or within 7 days of your 18th birthday. • Be a GA resident and a U.S. The fees for a driver's license are: • $32 for 8 years. Fees are payable by VISA, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express. Your new license should arrive within 7 days after you complete the online process. In Person To apply in person: • Take your provisional license with you to your local DDS Customer Service Center.
• Pay the driver's license fee: • $32 for 8 years. Fees are payable by credit or debit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express), cash, check, or money order.
US and non-US citizens are allowed one free name or address change during the term of their original driver's license/permit/ID card. To be eligible for a free driver's license/permit/ID card the applicant must complete the change request 150 days prior to the expiration date currently listed on the driver's license/permit/ID card. Any additional name and/or address changes, during the original driver's license/permit/ID card term will require a renewal. A renewal will extend the of the driver's license/permit/ID card. Renewals conducted via the DDS Online Services portal will receive a $5.00 discount from the fees stated above.: Residents are required to update the address currently listed on their driver's license/permit/ID card within 60 days of moving to Georgia. Customers are allowed 1 free address change during the original term of your license as long as it's not within 150 days of your license expiration date. Otherwise you will be required to renew your license and pay the required renewal fee.
Address changes can be done Online or in Person at a. You cannot perform an address change by mail or phone. Online To use, customers must be US Citizens with Georgia residency. • There is a $5.00 discount if charges apply. • Certain may apply. • Commercial Driver's License holders are not eligible for online services. In Person DDS has implemented Secure ID (resulting from Federal requirements of the Real ID Act), which requires customers to provide two (2) documents proving residential address, when visiting a.
However, if a customer currently holds a Secure DL/ID, only one (1) document is needed to prove residency. For a list of acceptable documents proving residential address, visit our page. Fill out the required before visiting a Center. Applicant name changes must be processed, in person, at a Customer Service Center. Applicant is required to update the name listed on their driver's license/permit/ID card within 60 days, as required by law. • may apply if you are doing a name change within 150 days of your license expiration date or you are performinig a 2nd name and/or address change during the original term of your license. • For current GA Customers - If applicant's name has changed from original birth record or passport, applicant is required to present certified legal documents supporting each name change such as: marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption papers and/or legal name change.
NOTE: All name change docs are required for new and new new to GA customers. • All documents must be in English. • Applicants married in the state of Georgia, on or after November 1, 1982 and who wish to hyphenate a surname and married name must present a certified copy of the marriage license application reflecting the selection of a hyphenated surname. • Applicants whose surnames have changed by reason of a marriage that occurred outside the state of Georgia may obtain a driver's license/permit/ID card in the hyphenated married surname upon submission of a certified copy of a marriage license application or state issued marriage certificate for the marriage.
• If presenting a divorce decree, it must contain a name-change order which will serve as legal proof of your intended name change. Applicants are required to update physical details, listed below, in person at a Customer Service Center: • Weight • Height • Eye Color • Gender Note: • Gender updates requires applicant to submit a court order or physician's letter certifying gender change. • The letter or court order shall state the person's name, date of birth, date of gender reassignment operation and other identifying information.